top of page
  • Writer's picture737flygirl

Inside & Out

Updated: Jun 24, 2019

Dear Reader,


I know it is most important to tend to the condition of our soul first and foremost.  It's the inside that counts, right? As a follower of Christ, I would be remiss if I did not share my testimony.


Having been raised in the Roman Catholic faith I've always had a superficial knowledge of God; and therefore had a profession of faith only.

But Father's will and in His great mercy, I was born again.

I was then able to truly accept Christ as my Savior and Lord.

I am no longer simply a professor of faith, but a possessor of it. I'm saved by grace alone, through faith alone, in Christ alone.He now resides in me and is my ALL IN ALL.

Apart from Him I can do no thing.


Having shared that, I feel it is completely okay to care about the outside, too. In fact, I believe we have a responsibility to be good stewards of our bodies as well. We are, after all, created in the image of Almighty God.  We should be mindful to care about our whole person.


With that said, let's chat about skin care. Because not only are we what we eat, but we are what we absorb as well.


When I started reading labels on food several years ago, it did not immediately dawn on me to read the labels on my skin care products.  Eventually, I did - and I was just as appalled as when I read the labels on consumer goods.  An array of ingredients I could not pronounce took up most of the label space.

So I went on an adventure to see what kind of skin care products I could make myself.  The answer?  Everything.  From toothpaste to deodorant, eye makeup remover to skin toner, microdermabrasion paste, moisturizers, foot deodorizer,  and so on and so on.   Here's the thing - if you can buy it in the store, you can make it yourself. * Please see note at bottom of post.


I personally purchase all of my ingredients on Amazon.  I find recipes on Pinterest.  Please feel free to sneak a peak at my do-it-yourself (DIY) Skin Care Pinterest Board to see my favorites.  You can click this link to check it out.


You will see that just about every product requires at one essential oil.  Most will have more than two.  Please read my separate post (coming soon) regarding Essential Oils.  ** Please see note at bottom of post.


Truly, I have yet to find a product I cannot make myself.  I was amazed!  Some products are more tedious than others, but if you simply treat yourself to a "spa day", you can make large batches of what you'd like.  Most everything keeps well for a few months.  I go through some products quicker than others.  My facial skin care products are used most frequently, so I make them more often (every couple of months).  Deodorant, toothpaste and bars of soap are all made in such large batches that I don't have to make them but every several months.


This saves me a LOT of money.  Do know that at first you will incur a moderate expense in order to acquire the necessary ingredients and supplies.  But once this task is accomplished, because many products use much of the same ingredients you will find a great savings in the long run.  When you purchase in bulk on Amazon, most will last a very long time because you will use only a small quantity of the bulk item at a time.


Here is a list of some of the key items you will want to have around:

Supply List:

Sauce pan and double boiler. (this is a good size to have as well)

Empty molds/containers (for deodorant & bar soap, etc)

Ingredients List Suggestions:

Beeswax or some kind of emulsifying wax pastilles

A variety of Carrier Oils such as Olive, Avocado, Apricot, Almond and Jojoba** (See Note)

A variety of Essential Oils such as lavender, frankincense, lemon, etc. ** (See Note)

Melt & Pour soap (for face bar soap)

Distilled water

Raw Apple Cider Vinegar (with "mother") ~ I like Braggs brand


AND . . Who doesn't love beautiful lashes and great skin! Careprost (GENERIC for Latisse) and Tretinoin Cream (GENERIC for Retin A Cream - not retinol, but THE Retin A). If you are interested in either of these products, I stock them regularly. See my Beauty Offers Post or please contact me 623.521.6522.


*NOTE: Once again, I am not a medical professional.  These are suggestions and helpful hints.  As with any new product, use caution, please!  Test ingredients on SMALL patch of skin prior to a larger application.  Make sure you do not have an adverse/allergic reactions.  Consult your physician PRIOR to use if you have any concerns.


**NOTE: Please use this link to access the DIY recipes on my Pinterest board for oils used in specific products On this same board, you will find essential oil charts that give you great information as to which oils are used for what specific application, malady or treatment.

I purchase my oils on Amazon.  They are much more cost effective than the big 'brand' name oils. Wherever you decide to purchase them, just be sure to get a good reputable seller who is selling pure oils. Read reviews. See my separate post on Essential Oils.


Thanks for reading! Ciao!


~ Barbie

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Beauty Offers

Who doesn't love beautiful lashes and great skin?! Careprost (GENERIC for Latisse) ~ Read about it here. Tretinoin Cream (GENERIC for Retin A Cream - not retinol, but THE Retin A). ~ Fabulous for acne

Cancer? Chemo? Consider!

Dearest Reader, This is such a difficult topic to write about. There is much to say and words just do not seem adequate. I have lost several loved ones to cancers of various sorts. It pains me to hear

Love Those Amazon Treasure Finds!

Dear Reader, Who doesn't love Amazon?  Especially when you are a hermit like myself who cherishes shopping on line in the comfort of my own home with a cup of coffee and a Yorkie on my lap!  Life is g

bottom of page